if you’ve hit puberty, you’ll never be a ProTour rider

In a VeloNews interview, Vinokourov said, in reference to Alberto Contador, that “He’s only 27 and until he’s 32-33, he can [be] competitive on the bike because he began racing very late, at 15, so he’s still fresh.”

What a great insight into US cycling versus European cycling. I didn’t even know about bicycle racing when I was 15.

If you’ve read some of my other posts, you know I have a sort of love/hate thing for Vino. Well, that’s not going to end any time soon, because he’s able to, in the same quote, come off as rather intelligent and also prove that he’s still a complete dumbass.

“That’s just an excuse (Bruyneel) used to leave for the other team. He used my name, my image. He had one more year of contract with the team and the Kazakhs had no problem that he could continue.”

Well played. I still don’t understand how breach of contract is so prevalent in professional cycling.

“Why shouldn’t I be able to come back to the team that was in part created for me? Why didn’t Johan want me? I didn’t choose this road, but I never understood why Lance could race at Astana and not me.”

You didn’t choose this road? Seriously? You tripped into a bunch of bloog bags and IVs at the start of your training and then managed to trip back into that same bunch of bloog bags and IVs right before the tour???

This post’s image-stealing style courtesy of Nello.

source


Leave a comment