that ride that is kind of a race that happens neary January, I think…

January Nats [some group ride pretty similar to a race, near Chapel Hill but not in Chapel Hill, which occurs near the end of January, but rarely in January, with an entry fee but no real pay out, of which I have sworn not to directly address unless on a one-on-one basis with fellow racing cyclist] went down this past weekend. In typical fasion, it was super underground and only those in the know showed up. Met at Eoin’s house and rode to the course, race, and rode back. That’s about it. Andrew’s Store Rd., due to the condition and the grade, dwindled 65 down to 20. Spent some time off the front, raced the training race as a training race, pretty happy overall. This weekend is NC State. Should be interesting. This winter, for many reasons, has been a polar opposite of last winter: long gone are 20+ base mile weeks, replaced by 8-12ish hour intenseish weeks. We’ll see how it goes – hopefully I have the proper form early and don’t crack in July. Rouge-Roubaix is less than a month out, and then it all snowballs from there.

…I can’t wait for races to start…

Mostly because it’s blizzarding in Boone, and yes, I mean the high wind speed, low visibility, long duration definition of a blizzard. On the upside, I’ve been reading, writing, and working quite a bit, and being pent up inside for days at a time has made me antsy, so maybe I can do well this weekend on hyperness alone – and I’ve had quite the intellectual stimuli to inspire me. Nerd power FTW.


Leave a comment